trazodone

By rapture2 Added at May 14, 2010 Views 3,192 Reviews 22

Trazodone is an antidepressant medication. It is thought to increase the activity of one of the brain chemicals (serotonin) which may become unbalanced and cause depression. It may also be used for relief of anxiety disorders (eg, sleeplessness, tension) and chronic pain.

  • Report Report as inappropriate
  • Share
    Email Email
    Print Print Twitter Twitter
    Facebook Facebook

Reviews (20 reviews)

Add your review Reply Down
AmandaPanda09
AmandaPanda09 February 5 at 2:00 pm   

I really did not take too well to the product I was on it for about a week and my heart kept racing pretty fast and it made me feel very nervous.

dragonfly803
dragonfly803 February 16, 2015 at 3:11 pm   

This med is very effective as a sleep aid and I haven't had any side effects. I take 300 mg right before bed time.

got the blues
got the blues October 5, 2014 at 1:58 am   

It was prescribed to me as a sleep aid & it just doesn't work & I've gained weight.

x13xdiva
x13xdiva February 7, 2014 at 10:52 am   

Trazadone has always worked great for me. As long as I take it at least 2 hours before I go to bed I can avoid most of the "tired hangover" that I would have taking it later. I've had no weight gain or really any other side effects except the tiredness which can be avoided if you take it early.

Whats mine is yours
Whats mine is yours January 19, 2014 at 10:09 am   

My Dr. prescribed this to me as a sleep aid (50mg)

The sleep quality I experience is wonderful.

Falling asleep quickly doesn't happen like I though it would. I feel drowsy, however I fall asleep whenever (falling asleep in general was never an issue of mine).

I wake up refreshed and ready to get going :)

Side effects that I experience are:

Heart pounding (bothersome, but I like the quality sleep, so I deal with it)

Drowsiness (not sleepiness)

Dry mouth (most probably, cant remember clearly at the moment)

Interesting dreams (I think)

-And sometimes when I'm drifting off to sleep, I could almost "cause" myself to have voices in my head, which scare me. When I start doing that i distract myself right away, like i said i have control over it so its not like its making me hear voices, its just putting me into this funky mode..you get me?! It's difficult to express.

-One time i took it and didn't go to sleep for some time afterward. I was walking around the house and suddenly became very nauseous. I thought I was going to throw up. So I went to bathroom and calmed myself down. Thank heavens I didn't throw-up.

I didn't even know it was an anti-depressant until I read this Review. (I wonder why he didn't tell me?)
Thanks guys :)

bolyla
bolyla August 23, 2012 at 11:23 pm   

The rating I gave for the drug is one star if that. Bolyla

bolyla
bolyla August 23, 2012 at 11:21 pm   

Trazodone, It's the worth medication that I've Ever been given.
The first week I felt weak but I didn't think anything of up, within a couple weeks I had all the followinh sysptoms, It also gave me slured speack . I had went to a family reunion and when I talked they thought I had been Drinking. As soon as I went off the medication alot of my systems went away. That was June 16, and still today I'm still very unsteady on my feet.

Blurred vision; constipation; decreased sexual desire or ability; diarrhea; dizziness; drowsiness; dry mouth; headache; lightheadedness when sitting up or standing; muscle aches or pains; nausea; nervousness; stomach pain; stuffy nose; tiredness
.
I should have taken more notice but I'd never had a bad reaction to medication befor. It almost bed ridden me. Please reads the warning information befor you take any med. If I had done that I might not have to have goin thru what I did. Sincerely Bolyla

nikitadimera
nikitadimera March 1, 2012 at 4:09 pm   

anyone find that they started grinding their teeth while on this ?

amyspeer
amyspeer February 4, 2012 at 5:43 pm   

trazodone does work for me somewhat, i guess it just don't always put me to sleep until hours later. thats not good when i need to get sleep and i go to college. I take 50 mg to 100 mg at night to help with sleep. I also take depokate er 1,000 mg and another medication called celax to help i have Post Traumatic stress disoreder and MDD Disorder

tech2d
tech2d August 22, 2011 at 6:31 pm   

I took this drug as well and did not like how it made me feel upon waking up. I felt like I had a hangover.

NANNY-ANNIE
NANNY-ANNIE July 15, 2011 at 10:44 pm   

I took Trazadone to help me sleep. It only made me tired. I didn't sleep. It also made me have migraines. I suffered from migraines before hand, but the trazadone made them occur more often. When I would sleep, I would have strange dreams.

Brutus83
Brutus83 July 8, 2011 at 1:57 pm   

Trazadone (200mg) must be the reason for my sudden appetite increase. I'm taking Seroquel now along with Trazadone.

Stephanie7
Stephanie7 June 22, 2011 at 8:54 pm   

I take Trazodone for sleep disorders. I am not dependent on it, and only side effect is weird dreams.

Abby39
Abby39 May 30, 2011 at 3:48 pm   

I take this 100mg for sleep. I take half a pill if I have to get the kids up in the morning and the full pill during the weekend when the grogginess isn't as big a deal. If I don't take anything, I'm so wired at night from some of my other meds and have been up for more than 36 hours straight. This has been a sleep saver.

slebo
slebo February 28, 2011 at 9:41 am   

I take it only as needed, of course, however, I don't like it because I tend to have weird and sometimes frightening dreams with it, and it feels like a hangover when you wake up.

Jennifer Bart
Jennifer Bart February 19, 2011 at 10:06 pm   

I took this and it made me manic i had tobe hospitlized

petals
petals February 5, 2011 at 2:56 pm   

It seems to be working for me and I have gained any weight with it. It's nice to sleep again!

alfie123
alfie123 February 2, 2011 at 8:44 pm   

I loved Trazadone and it really helped me sleep and become more stable. However, I gained 50 pounds while on it. I exercised, dieted, everything and couldn't shake the weight. I was recently switched to another medication and I don't sleep as well but I have been losing weight with hard work

zephyrael
zephyrael October 26, 2010 at 10:35 pm   

Trazodone does seem to help with sleep. Unfortunately for people like me we grow a tolerance to it rather quickly and the dose has to be upped. I started out on 100mg and am currently up to 400mg before bed. Either way it does work for my insomnia… most of the time.

mastec7
mastec7 September 17, 2010 at 10:26 pm   

it really helps. i can sleep again; i forgot what it was like.

Hide the Social Toolbar Show the Social Toolbar