Clonazapam (klonopin)

By meg585 Added at January 28, 2011 Views 2,175 Reviews 25

A mild sedative which helps with anxiety or nervousness, and helps with chronic panic attacks. Can also aid in helping with OCD.

  • Report Report as inappropriate
  • Share
    Email Email
    Print Print Twitter Twitter
    Facebook Facebook

Reviews (20 reviews)

Add your review Reply Down
AndiFazio
AndiFazio May 12, 2016 at 6:07 pm   

Clonopin helps but not in such low doses they usually give. I used to be on Ativan with it and they worked great for my PGSD and anxiety!

ebonina
ebonina May 12, 2016 at 3:19 am   

I was given a very low dosage of Klonopin but I've been too afraid to take it. I've heard about how addictive it can be and it scared me. I really appreciate everyone's comments on this. I also suffer from lack of sleep. I wish my brain would turn off too! I also suffer from anxiety and I hate to go to sleep because I get so anxious. I think I will talk to my new doctor about it. Maybe I will try it.

Cshearer182
Cshearer182 April 28, 2016 at 8:06 pm   

I was on this for sleep/ anxiety for about 2 yrs. I have a high tolerance to meds in general so initially it helped but not always, even after increasing from 1mg to 2 at bedtime. I just switched to lorazapam 2mg but really didnt find that more or less effective either.
Ive always had insomnia but never took prescriptions other than melatonin which i still take when im desperate. Can someone please invent a switch to turn off your brain and wake it up in the morning? That would be so nice!! Hahaha To everyone who has posted i wish you well finding relief with your sleeplessness! Im still trying myself! I would definitely recommend giving it a try if you havent.

dragonfly803
dragonfly803 February 16, 2015 at 3:07 pm   

This med worked very well for my anxiety and panic attacks but my psychiatrist switched me to xanax.

kjdmeTX
kjdmeTX December 5, 2014 at 12:47 am   

Klonopin has helped a lot with my anxiety. I take 2 mg at bedtime. I had racing thoughts and was afraid to drive or ride in a car. I'm very thankful for this med.

got the blues
got the blues October 5, 2014 at 1:56 am   

I think it's been very effective for my anxiety - wish it would help with my sleep like it does for others.

Buddha_nature
Buddha_nature September 10, 2014 at 1:25 am   

I've used K-pin for the last six years. Its wonderfully effective at controlling my anxiety. When i get really spun i'll chew a minty milligram of the mental health breath mint. Twenty minutes later its all good. Its also a great sleep aid. I've developed a tolerance to it so my P-doc doubled the amount I can have monthly. When my stress is low I can go days without taking it to no ill effect; I don't think I'm addicted to it.

sp6327
sp6327 June 3, 2014 at 3:53 pm   

I've been on k-pin for a while now and it works for my anxiety and helps me sleep. I take 1 in the morning, 1/2 afternoon and 1 before bed.

Buddha_nature
Buddha_nature February 8, 2014 at 11:27 pm   

I've been on K-pin for over 5 years. It is a very effective drug for quick attenuation of my anxiety and insomnia. Chew one and ride it out for 20 minutes, you'll be OK. I call them mental health breath mints. I have developed a tolerance to it.That is to be expected with any Benzo.

Jan8
Jan8 March 27, 2013 at 9:35 am   

It's the best ! I have bipolar disease and generalized anxiety disorder and I am no longer anxious. I take i/2 in am and 1 at bedtime. Was put on this in place of xanax and had no ill effect. It lasts longer than xanax also.

chetsgirl
chetsgirl March 19, 2013 at 4:47 pm   

I wont take this drug cause it only makes me sick to the point that i cant sleep, eat, or even concentrate. I have these problems with and without, but will not take something that makes it worse.

chetsgirl
chetsgirl March 19, 2013 at 4:47 pm   

I wont take this drug cause it only makes me sick to the point that i cant sleep, eat, or even concentrate. I have these problems with and without, but will not take something that makes it worse.

chetsgirl
chetsgirl March 19, 2013 at 4:47 pm   

I wont take this drug cause it only makes me sick to the point that i cant sleep, eat, or even concentrate. I have these problems with and without, but will not take something that makes it worse.

startover445624@aol.com
startover445624@aol.com March 19, 2013 at 6:44 am   

Klonopin is excellent for those of us who are insomniacs. It stays in your system during the day, also, but not in a groggy way. I have Generalized Anxiety Disorder, and the Klonopin keeps me calm by day, and sleeping by night. It IS habit-forming, however; I started taking this almost 20 years ago, and I needed sleep desperately. I do not care about addiction, but I know that I cannot go without sleep. I have Rheumatoid Arthritis which has been serious for 34 years, and it is a disease that zaps your energy, but the pain makes it impossible to sleep—a kind of catch-22. I am happy with my Klonopin dose, and sleep makes distress tolerance so much easier. I never got the "high" feeling that some people get, I guess, so I never thought about using too much! For my health needs, I give Klonopin anA+++.

jenlyns64
jenlyns64 January 22, 2013 at 9:41 pm   

This is the good stuff!

Katterfly
Katterfly January 20, 2012 at 12:00 am   

It helped me with racing thoughts and insomnia.

HeatherRae83
HeatherRae83 January 16, 2012 at 8:14 pm   

This has been a great med to treat my chronic panic attacks. Works pretty quickly and isn't as habit forming as Xanax and Valium. Although, all of these types of meds carry the risk for dependency. I have no negative side effects either, which is something very difficult for me to find.

JeffAl
JeffAl September 12, 2011 at 12:06 pm   

I have been using this drug for 2 years. it has worked the best of anything I have tried for my anxiety. I do not know how much is too much though. I am currently at 2mg but it is getting weak.

LuvDogsCO
LuvDogsCO March 24, 2011 at 9:37 pm   

Works wonders for me.

Yes, I do seem to develop a tolerance.

It is a lot better than zanex because the blood absorption rate is slower, that means fewer ups and downs for me. Also, lower chance to pop one when I'm feeling badly.

I feel angry when I hear people say something negative and generalized about the entire application of this drug to everyone in the world. Do you know everyone in the world who has used this drug? Maybe it hasn't worked for you or has had unpleasant side effects or hasn't worked for people you know. That would be useful information for me.

Here's some information from my experience. It works for me. I'm able to hold down a very stressful and high responsibility job. Wouldn't be able to do it without it, or at least would suffer a lot from out of control thoughts and irrational fear.

It also helps me with my depression because it lessens the tendency to ruminate, which spirals me down into my depression.

I think there is a lot of wisdom in speaking in "I statements" and talking only about my own experience. So, there ya go.

Jennifer Bart
Jennifer Bart February 19, 2011 at 10:03 pm   

this is a very helpfull medication if used as pescribed

Hide the Social Toolbar Show the Social Toolbar