Lithuim

By Jennifer Bart Added at February 19, 2011 Views 1,414 Reviews 9

for people suffering with bipolar very old drug

  • Report Report as inappropriate
  • Share
    Email Email
    Print Print Twitter Twitter
    Facebook Facebook

Reviews (9 reviews)

Add your review Reply Down
artroxu
artroxu April 8, 2015 at 3:50 am   

I've been taking this as a supplement to Celexa for a couple of years now. Seems to help me stay even, although I think it makes me a bit apathetic sometimes.

dragonfly803
dragonfly803 February 16, 2015 at 3:05 pm   

I was on this med, it was not effective for me.

NANNY-ANNIE
NANNY-ANNIE July 15, 2011 at 10:39 pm   

pros works well with other drugs, very cheap, works for most people

cons need to have regular blood test, increase urination, tremors, increase in thrist, this medication needs to be monitered.

heatheretowers
heatheretowers June 2, 2011 at 5:39 pm   

You should have had a blood test before you were even prescirbed Lithium, to see what your current Lithium level is, and to check your thyroid. Lithium, if not monitered correctly, can be too high in your system and make you shake, pass out or feel just plain crappy. Talk to your doctor!

Kyra2011
Kyra2011 May 18, 2011 at 9:24 am   

As for your concerns with lithium… I have never used it so can not help. Although I found with antidepressants it was good to get different medical opinions and took 10yrs of trying different antidepressants before I found one that seems to work effectively. I would be reluctant to take a dose that you don't have adequate research on… Your general practitioner didn't give you any information?

Kyra2011
Kyra2011 May 18, 2011 at 9:15 am   

Hi Mchiara, I have just read your comments about your problems with medications and getting out of bed of a morning and felt compelled to talk with you. I am also currently experiencing difficulty getting out of bed in the mornings even though generally the meds that I am using now are actually working… That's what concerns me the most! that I have found meds that work and yet I am slipping back into a depressed state. I have identified that the main reasons for me inability to get out of bed include; a poorly paid & boring part-time job, cessation of stimulating studies, loss of friendships due to a defamation issue etc, absence of family or close friendships, absence of motivation & passion, diminished Interest in activities that I once enjoyed & loss of appetite (so when I am not hungry there's no need to get up to eat either). There are other stressors which I don't need to talk about. I noticed recently I was inspired to get up when my boyfriend was coming over… As crazy as it sounds I guess the positive rewards & relationship that I have with him is enough to motivate me… It drives me mad as I want my volition to be driven by an innate trait or characteristic or need that does not rely on another person. Work also gets me up!

Have you tried counseling or psychotherapy or do you have an activity that you once enjoyed like riding a bike, hiking, painting that you could start up again? I remember a couple of years ago when I was experiencing a mild depressive episode I took up life drawing classes which helped.

Sorry if this response is a little sketchy, it is 12:30am in Sydney & I have had a long day… So happy that I am feeling tired for a change! I experience insomnia so sleep when I can…

Talk again soon
You can email or write to me anytime you need to talk

Kat

mchiara
mchiara May 16, 2011 at 9:50 am   

My psychiatrist put me on lithium 150mg am & 150mg pm.
He also never mentioned anything about bloodwork @this
dose. My quest is am i safe taking 300 mg a day w/out
having any types of test ran? Very confused . does anyone have
any thought on this?

Mchiara

Surfin1973
Surfin1973 February 22, 2011 at 10:34 am   

Pro: cheap
Con: caused me a torso rash forever

Jennifer Bart
Jennifer Bart February 19, 2011 at 10:16 pm   
Pros

It is realy effective and dose not make me drowsie

Cons

It must be closley monitoired and you must drink alot of water to flush it from your system

Hide the Social Toolbar Show the Social Toolbar