Lamictal (generic-lamotrigine)

By grannymusiclover Added at March 9, 2011 Views 2,440 Reviews 6

A mood stabilizer used mainly in the treatment of bipolar disorder. Research has shown it to be most the effective on the depression end of the bipolar spectrum.

  • Report Report as inappropriate
  • Share
    Email Email
    Print Print Twitter Twitter
    Facebook Facebook

Reviews (6 reviews)

Add your review Reply Down
dragonfly803
dragonfly803 February 16, 2015 at 2:43 pm   

I took this med it did not help me.

x13xdiva
x13xdiva February 7, 2014 at 10:39 am   

This is the only med that has helped my symptoms without side effects and still allowed some feelings and emotions to remain. I don't want to be a zombie but I don't want to be the crazy bi-polar chick either. I gained absolutely no weight with this. It didn't help my sleep issues but trazadone works well for that as long as I don't take it too late at night.

Aquarelle
Aquarelle April 5, 2013 at 4:44 pm   
Edited April 5, 2013 at 5:16 pm by Aquarelle

This medication eliminated any feelings or emotions for over nine months. My personality disappeared, and I felt emotionally dead. Even though I knew something was funny, I could not laugh. I came close to quitting several times, but I decided to keep going. After that nine month period of time, it took several more months for my emotions and personality to come back. I'm the same person now that I was minus mood extremes. I love what this medication has done for me, but it took almost a year and half to get here.

Anonymous
Anonymous February 28, 2012 at 2:45 pm   

I was given Lamictol slowly up to 6 pills a day of 25 mg. I became very defense and angry doing things I normally didn't do, then they added Triliptol . My Husband weened me off it scared him. So now I'm going to see another doctor . My husband took me to our family Dr. he put me on Celexa and is sending me to this other Dr. he's supposed to be the best there is, he takes only cash . About every ten days on Celexa I drift downward and it's hard to get myself out of the downshift?

Joyful and Stormy
Joyful and Stormy July 15, 2011 at 3:56 am   

Great Medication! Has helped me more than any other mood stabilizer, combined with Cymbalta. Havebeen taking since 2004.

grannymusiclover
grannymusiclover March 9, 2011 at 7:49 pm   
Pros

It's a viable alternative for those who have had no response to other mood stabilizing drugs. I have taken it for more than two years with no real side effect issues and have been relatively stable throughout that time. It has been the ONLY psychiatric medication to provide any relief for my almost continuous depression.

Cons

The dosage must be increased very slowly to avoid the possibility of side effects, one in particular (a rash) can be life-threatening. It is very slow acting, and it can take weeks to months before a therapeutic response is seen. It has provided little help, if any, for my manic symptoms.

Hide the Social Toolbar Show the Social Toolbar