Effexor XR (venlafaxine HCl)

By Abby39 Added at May 30, 2011 Views 2,345 Reviews 10

Venlafaxine is used to treat depression, anxiety, panic attacks, and social anxiety disorder (social phobia). It may improve your mood and energy level and may help restore your interest in daily living. It may also decrease fear, anxiety, unwanted thoughts, and the number of panic attacks. Venlafaxine is known as a serotonin-norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor (SNRI). It works by helping to restore the balance of certain natural substances (serotonin and norepinephrine) in the brain.

  • Report Report as inappropriate
  • Share
    Email Email
    Print Print Twitter Twitter
    Facebook Facebook

Reviews (10 reviews)

Add your review Reply Down
dragonfly803
dragonfly803 February 16, 2015 at 3:19 pm   

I was on effexor several years but it didn't really seem to help.

leeannj
leeannj February 17, 2014 at 10:33 am   

I like the Effexor even though I think I need a higher dose.

Buddha_nature
Buddha_nature February 8, 2014 at 11:02 pm   

I've been on Effexor XR for around two years. The last year I've been on a medically supervised diet, so I can't speak to the weight gain thing. I have at best a weak sex drive. I haven't had an erection, ejaculation, or orgasm in years. I have absolutely no sexual stimulation in my gentials, can't even run one out. At least I can still function and work..

When moving up in dose I experienced "brain zaps", and electric shocks in my limbs. I'm on my 3rd bout of recurrent major depression; my P-Doc tells me I'll be on antidepressants for the rest of my life. I look forward to a lifetime of iatrogenic impotence.
It might be a good time to become a Catholic priest.

Rosie Martin
Rosie Martin November 21, 2013 at 1:51 pm   

Has anyone taking Efexor XL found a way to keep weight down whilst on this drug ? and a way to be sexual ? if so I would love to know. Also the issue of the Liver. Surely they can work on the drug pharmaceutically to make it 'cleaner '? less side effects. The noradrenaline and serotonin seem to be the big plus here, defintelty was the best antidepressant/anti anxiety but at a high price.

Rosie Martin
Rosie Martin November 21, 2013 at 1:48 pm   

I was on this medication for over 2years. I have to say it was extremely effective for a particular phobia I suffered from, kept me on an even keel, was excellent for Anxiety and staved off Depression alot of the time but, my cholestrol rose, my BP became v high and I put on an awful lot of weight resulting in fatty liver disease which is now chronic and recent scans showed liver is in a bad way. I don't drink/smoke/ ~ I felt totally sexless on this med. and had no interest in men. I slowly titrated off it [hell] and went on to Lexapro, A cleaner drug for liver but not at all as good. Venlafaxine [Efexor] is very addictive and I feel although the most effective, the downside of no sexuality and becoming a hugely fat person was hard to bear, also excessive sweating especially at night.

kayleigh bowditch
kayleigh bowditch May 31, 2012 at 9:11 pm   

whats the age restriction ?

HeatherRae83
HeatherRae83 January 16, 2012 at 8:03 pm   

This medication created even worse symptoms than I presented with. I became increasing anxious and suicidal. This stopped two days after I stopped the med. It's very important to remember everyone reacts differently to meds and severe reactions should be reported to your doc ASAP.

w3s
w3s January 6, 2012 at 5:13 pm   

About 2 months ago my Dr. changed my medication from Celexa 80mg per day to Effexor- generic 225 mg per day. The first couple of weeks were bad but I started feeling a little better. But I believe I did better on the Celexa. I was taken off of it due the dosage I was taking. The Dr. said that the FDA determined Celexa to possibly cause heart problems at dosages over 40mg per day. I also occassionally experience what I call "brain zaps"- whoosh whoosh sounds that go through my head. It last only seconds but can be aggravating. Have you ever had these?

meter readers of void
meter readers of void December 26, 2011 at 3:01 am   

agree strongly with the side effects of stopping cold turkey

Abby39
Abby39 May 30, 2011 at 3:22 pm   
Pros

Side effects are mild if any. Very effective medication. Only need to take once daily. Easy to adjust dosage and works well with other antidepressants.

Cons

Causes insomnia. Not be used with St. John's wort, Ibuprofen or street drugs. Wicked, wicked withdrawls including dizziness, irritability, nausea . You cannot stop cold turkey with this medication!!!!

Hide the Social Toolbar Show the Social Toolbar