Serafem (Prozac)

By TRKnight2007 Added at October 27, 2009 Views 1,596 Reviews 7

Prozac was rebranded "Sarafem" for the treatment of PMDD.

Fluoxetine (trade name Prozac) is an antidepressant of the selective serotonin reuptake inhibitor (SSRI) class. Fluoxetine is approved for the treatment of major depression (including pediatric depression), obsessive-compulsive disorder (in both adult and pediatric populations), bulimia nervosa, anorexia nervosa, panic disorder and premenstrual dysphoric disorder.

  • Report Report as inappropriate
  • Share
    Email Email
    Print Print Twitter Twitter
    Facebook Facebook

Reviews (7 reviews)

Add your review Reply Down
dragonfly803
dragonfly803 February 17, 2015 at 9:56 am   

I was on this for a couple of years with no noticeable improvement.

cupofjoe
cupofjoe September 23, 2013 at 1:01 pm   

i was on prozac about 10 years ago.it helped me with my depression,but i had sexual side effects.everybodys different,so what works for one person may not help the other.

Avalon_II
Avalon_II September 22, 2013 at 1:32 pm   

I like it. I take it for my depression. my main diagnosis is PTSD. so my doctor paired my prozac with lamictal, a mood stabilizer. the combination works great for me. something people should keep in mind though, is that meds are not one-size-fits-all. so not everyone will get the same results I did.

Katterfly
Katterfly January 16, 2012 at 6:17 pm   

It helps me a lot with my PMDD. A LOT.

colobuffgirl
colobuffgirl July 15, 2011 at 11:36 pm   

I was worse with anti-depression drugs. Now I'm drug free, 100%.

NANNY-ANNIE
NANNY-ANNIE July 15, 2011 at 10:51 pm   

at first I didn't notice a thing. Doctors increased dosage. I still didn't feel anything. Finally , the docotors increase to a high level. I became very angry and hateful. People didn't want to be around me. My students at school called me Mrs. Megabeast.

TRKnight2007
TRKnight2007 October 27, 2009 at 7:32 pm   
Pros

Since it is essentially Prozac, it has been prescribed for over 20 years.

Cons

Adverse side effects include nausea (22% vs 9% for placebo), insomnia (19% vs 10% for placebo), somnolence (12% vs 5% for placebo), anorexia (10% vs 3% for placebo), anxiety (12% vs 6% for placebo), nervousness (13% vs 8% for placebo), asthenia (11% vs 6% for placebo) and tremor (9% vs 2% for placebo). Those that most often resulted in interruption of the treatment were anxiety, insomnia, and nervousness (1-2% each), and in pediatric trials—mania (2%). Similarly to other SSRIs, sexual side effects are common with fluoxetine; they include anorgasmia and reduced libido.[

Hide the Social Toolbar Show the Social Toolbar